Champion Energy Services Reviews

Champion Energy Services Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Champion Energy Services are the order experience, rated at 4.6 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 4.5 of 5.

Champion Energy Services Rating

New Jersey Energy Ratings Score:


( 4.3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About Champion Energy Services

Champion Energy Services, a Calpine company, is one of the fastest-growing and largest retail electric providers in the United States. Champion Energy was founded in 2005 and serves residential, governmental, commercial and industrial customers in deregulated electric energy markets across the U.S.

Champion Energy's growth is driven by competitive, straightforward pricing and a reputation for maintaining the highest levels of satisfaction with its customers. In fact, Champion Energy has ranked “Highest in Residential Customer Satisfaction with Retail Electric Service in Texas” by J. D. Power in 2016 (and in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2015). Choose Champion Energy and get straightforward pricing, 24/7 customer care and Smart Track weekly usage reports.

Recommended Natural Gas Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price


508 Reviews for Champion Energy Services


Happy

(5 / 5)

  Very satisfied no issues

Trh
June 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion Energy Simply Electricity

(5 / 5)

  All went smooth and painless. Not too many choices and that made it easy! Fixed rate plan and no usage thresholds and all that commotion. They give you a weekly usage report and helping tips to conserve electricity.

GKL DFW
June 29th, 2020

Glad we can make things simple! Thanks for your leaving us your review.

Champion Energy Services Responds July 10th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion for best rates and bills

(5 / 5)

  Switched from Reliant where our highest bill was in the $400s while being away during the days to Champion where due to Covid we are home all the time with everything on. Our highest bill has been $150 using more electricity than we did prior. They also reward $50 credit for yourself and for anyone that uses your promo code to sign up off their monthly statement which can help those moving into a new place or switching providers with a cheaper bill. I was skeptical at first as I've only used larger electric companies but now I will never switch as Champion has amazing rates and plans.

JSprague86599
June 10th, 2020

Glad to hear that we were able to lower your electricity bill! Our Connect-A-Friend Referral program is a great way to save more on your monthly bills, and lets those who enroll with your referral code reap the benefits as well. Thank you for your review!

Champion Energy Services Responds June 12th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Savings on savings

(5 / 5)

  Have had no surprise fees and being with champion has honestly been a breeze. Renewal was easy and they level threw in $50 rebates for energy efficient lightbulbs as well as an Alexa.

Bszlbr
June 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Experience with Champion

(5 / 5)

  I've been with Champion about 4 years now and I've never had any issues with them. Initially, I was with Reliant and prices got too high so I started looking and found Champion Energy. They had much more competative rates and their service has been great. I love all the plan options from free weekends to free nights.

Jenny
June 1st, 2020

Hi Jenny,

Thank you for your many years as a customer. We're happy to know you've enjoyed your experience with us and appreciate your review. That's right, we offer a variety of plans to choose from all with competitive rates. We also take pride in being transparent with our pricing without having any hidden fees or costs. If you ever have any questions please reach out to us at feedback@champion.energy.

Champion Energy Services Responds June 12th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Works just fine

(5 / 5)

  Seamless

Go for cheap
April 25th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent service

(5 / 5)

  I am a user of Champion energy turning 5 years this May, no complain or bad experience for almost 5 years. I chose Champion Energy for so many reasons.
-Great customer service- I signed up online before I move here in the US, the customer service assisted me and was prompt to respond to my inquiries. I have moved from one apartment to another, and it was a smooth transfer. Just sent them email about my transfer request. I had no issue at all.
-Billing- you have an option to receive a hard copy or go paperless.
-Weekly report- is provided so youll know how much electricity you had consumed from the previous week. This is helpful if you want to budget your electric consumption per month.
-No Hidden charges- you only pay for your usage, Oncor charges and the taxes. No minimum usage required!
I have referred Champion to a lot of my friends, and they are happy about it. I would continue recommending it to others. I'm just glad I made a right choice and hope you'll do the same too! They are really a Champion in terms of providing electricity!

Jo
April 25th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far so good!

(5 / 5)

  In the first month we have gotten $50 towards a smart thermostat, $50 towards LED bulbs and over $100 in new a/c filters. All free. Not bad! And ebilling and payment set up through my bank was super easy too. Website gives me all I need and I get weekly projections for my bill.

Happy in Dallas
April 22nd, 2020

Absolutely! There are perks of being a customer of Champion. With our 24 month plans we offer $50 in free LEDs, $50 smart thermostat rebate and the first shipment of air filters is on us. We are glad to know you were able to reap our customer benefits! If you have any questions about our promotions or Smart Track report, please feel free to reach out to us anytime at 877.653.5090.

Champion Energy Services Responds April 27th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Big Shock

(5 / 5)

  Great website for ahpping for this utility and everything came through as advertized and promised. Great reports for monitoring usage and billing.

Big G
April 16th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switching to Champion Electric

(5 / 5)

  Switching to Champion Electric was amazingly easy. Not only do they have great rates they make is easy to become a customer. Be sure when you shopping for rates remember to check the rates for power usage for more than 2,000 Kwh. Many of the power companies rates sky rocket about that magic number. Champion electric rates remain consistent.

Jim
April 16th, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback Jim! We are happy to have you as a customer!

Champion Energy Services Responds April 16th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion in providing energy

(5 / 5)

  I am a user of Champion energy for 5 consecutive years, no complain or bad experience for five years. I chose Champion Energy for so many reasons.
-Great customer service- I signed up online before I move here in the US, the customer service assisted me and was prompt to respond to my inquiries. I have moved from one apartment to another, and it was a smooth transfer. Just sent them email about my transfer request. I had no issue at all.
-Billing- you have an option to receive a hard copy or go paperless.
-Weekly report- is provided so you'll know how much electricity you had consumed from the previous week. This is helpful if you want to budget your electric consumption per month.
-No Hidden charges- you only pay for your usage, Oncor charges and the taxes. No minimum usage required!
I have referred Champion to a lot of my friends, and they are happy about it. I would continue recommending it to others. I'm just glad I made a right choice and hope you'll do the same too! They are really a Champion in terms of providing electricity!

Jocelyn
April 8th, 2020

Hi Jocelyn,

We appreciate your feedback and letting others know about your positive experience with us! Thank you for being a loyal customers of ours for 5 years. If you ever have any questions please reach out to us at feedback@champion.energy.

Champion Energy Services Responds April 27th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good service!

(5 / 5)

  Good pricing and services! Easy access to account and billing

Great!
April 6th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pleasant Experience

(5 / 5)

  Never a problem. Love it

Pleasant
April 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very happy customer!

(5 / 5)

  Champion Energy has upfront pricing and no hidden fees, which means no surprises on your bill. I love this energy company! My bills have been reasonable since I signed up six months ago. If you are on the fence about which energy company to go with - do not hesitate to choose Champion Energy.

Use this referral code for a $50 bill credit when you sign up: WMoler66229

nic
March 10th, 2020

Thanks for giving your time to leave a review on your experience with us. We appreciate you choosing Champion Energy to power your home.

Champion Energy Services Responds April 3rd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New to Texas

(5 / 5)

  Upon purchasing our new home in Houston we found it quite challenging to select an energy provider. Everyone has their own opinion on who to choose so we decided to do our research online instead. We found that Champion Energy not only had good ratings but excellent plans and pricing as well. We pulled the trigger and couldn't be happier. Online signup was a breeze and the account setup was painless. We used the chat function on the site and customer service responded quickly while being very courteous and helpful. Our electricity was ready to go on day one. We snagged a referral code while signing up and we even get $50 off our next bill which is just the cherry on top. Try them out, you'll be happy you did.

Ray
March 4th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  Today I called Champion Energy and to my surprise I was immediately connected to a live person who spoke English as their first language. I did not have to go through numerous pre-selected options, none of which ever address my concerns. I did not have to repeat my request numerous times because the representative had poor comprehension of the English language. It was so refreshing to have my questions answered in a matter of minutes.

mamieruth
March 2nd, 2020

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our call center associates are located at our headquarters in Houston, Texas and are available 24/7 to assist customers. Please feel free to reach out to us anytime at 877.653.5090.

Champion Energy Services Responds March 3rd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion in energy

(5 / 5)

  I am a user of Champion energy for 4 consecutive years, no complain or bad experience for four years. I chose Champion Energy for so many reasons.
-Great customer service- I signed up online before I move here in the US, the customer service assisted me and was prompt to respond to my inquiries. I have moved from one apartment to another, and it was a smooth transfer. Just sent them email about my transfer request. I had no issue at all.
-Billing- you have an option to receive a hard copy or go paperless.
-Weekly report- is provided so youll know how much electricity you had consumed from the previous week. This is helpful if you want to budget your electric consumption per month.
-No Hidden charges- you only pay for your usage, Oncor charges and the taxes. No minimum usage required!
I have referred Champion to a lot of my friends, and they are happy about it. I would continue recommending it to others. I'm just glad I made a right choice and hope you'll do the same too! They are really a Champion in terms of providing electricity!

Jo
March 1st, 2020

Thanks for your feedback! We appreciate that you took a moment to give us some feedback on your experiences with us. Please let us know if you ever have any additional comments or questions.

Champion Energy Services Responds March 2nd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent customer service & referral program!!!

(5 / 5)

  February, 2020 --
This is the 2nd year I renew my contract with Champion Energy. I have had a great experience cost-wise, I feel that I always pay a fair & low amount, and I also love their customer service. I was overseas for one month and the company had no issues putting my account on hold during that time. Then I moved to another apartment and they also made it very easy to simply transfer my services without having to delete/create any new accounts. I live in a small 1 bedroom apartment and have never paid more than $20 per month, even though I use my appliances, washer, dryer & dishwasher pretty often.

Their best benefit is the opportunity to save $50 when your friends/family use your referral code. I know that banks and other companies also use referral codes, but it's usually something small ($10-$15) and you can only use your referral once. With Champion Energy, I have not paid for my electricity services in the last 2 months (and will probably not pay anything for this month) because I had a friend and a cousin use my referral code. I immediately received a $100 account credit!!! I don't like to put my name out there and review products or services, but I am truly satisfied with this company and I am so happily surprised with the amount of $$ I'm saving with their referral code that I hope they see how effective it is and don't stop using it. As long as they have it, I will be a loyal customer! Please feel free to use my code if you are a new customer, you will also receive $50 back right away and once your code is created, you can start sharing it with everyone you know!!!

Mickey
February 23rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just the best

(5 / 5)

  Use referral ID DLaney11789 when enrolling and get a $50 credit to your bill! We have been with Champion for well over a year now and may just stay with them forever. What I love about this company the most is that we do not have a to meet a certain usage limit to get whatever the cheapest price is set at. The price has been extremely reasonable and competitive to the other carriers we have used in the past. We have compared each month with our previous carrier, and each month was cheaper than what we paid the year before with a different carrier. Thanks again Champion!

David
February 14th, 2020

Hi David! We sure hope that you stay with us forever! We offer straightforward plans without the complications of having to use a certain usage amount to get a certain rate.

Champion Energy Services Responds March 3rd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far very good.

(5 / 5)

  Its been 2 months so far great.

Julius
February 7th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions



Champion Energy Services is the fastest-growing retail electric provider in the nation and the largest never to have been affiliated with a utility. Champion Energy currently serves residential, governmental, commercial and industrial customers in deregulated electric energy markets in Texas, Illinois, Pennsylvania, Ohio, New Jersey, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Connecticut, and Maine.

At Champion Energy Services, every decision they make focuses on creating greater value for their customers. From exceptionally competitive electricity rates, to no hidden rates and straightforward monthly electric bills, to ensuring that live customer care is available around the clock every day of the year.

Although there are many electric service providers in the marketplace, Houston-based Champion Energy rises to the top by keeping a sharp focus on customer interests.





Example Bill
loading...