Reviews for Inspire Energy

Updated May 22, 2024

The best review categories for Inspire Energy are their customer service, with an average of 2.1 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.6 stars.


Recent Good Review from NJ single mom

Satisfied since 2016
I've been an Inspire customer since 2016. I live in NJ. The sales rep wasn't pushy or deceptive. Everything was fine until I received my October 2023 bill, which was twice my previous bill ($440). I felt there had to be some kind of mistake, perhaps because a new meter had been installed.

I called Atlantic City Electric, who sends the bills, and they said the increase came from Inspire and that Inspire was charging me 25 cents per kwh, twice what Atlantic City charges. I called Inspire and got a very pleasant Brazilian rep who said something about a change to my plan and that they were going to start notifying NJ customers by email when their plans changed. I felt this was a scam, or maybe he was covering up an internal mistake. Anyway, he gave me a 12-month fixed rate of $94 a month and a contract, and made sure I knew I could cancel at any time with no penalty, and refunded me my money from last month plus some incentives. So I'm getting back over $250.

I plan to cancel them at the end of the 12 months as this all feels odd, but I'll take advantage of the 12-month discount. Even if it was a mistake, just say "we made a mistake." Since my Nov bill went back to normal before I called, I think it was just a mistake but I'll be watching closely especially after reading about others' experiences.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NJ Single Mom from Pitman, NJ on November 18th, 2023


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great service
Had a great experience with the company really happy w/ my decision and the fact that my family and I are going green
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Getting Greener Everyday from Piscataway, NJ on May 1st, 2023
New Jersey going green is great
I love my subscription with INSPIRE. I make too much money for government assistance with no children. So the stability and predictability of my bill being the same every month is great
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jessica Woods from Highland Park, NJ on June 23rd, 2021
Business bill SO MUCH lower!
I was skeptical that I would see much of a difference, but I was wrong. There is a huge difference in our bills now. It is unbelievable. GO FOR IT
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

EBAC from Vincentown, NJ on April 11th, 2021



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Low electric bill.
I was skeptical at first and Atlantic Electric told me my first bill will be high and then I will see Inspire 12cent from the next month. I own an electric car and my last electric bill was 5 something dollars. Hope it stays this way and to be honest I am expecting 0 dollar bill this month
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark from Woodstown, NJ on May 12th, 2021



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Satisfied since 2016
I've been an Inspire customer since 2016. I live in NJ. The sales rep wasn't pushy or deceptive. Everything was fine until I received my October 2023 bill, which was twice my previous bill ($440). I felt there had to be some kind of mistake, perhaps because a new meter had been installed.

I called Atlantic City Electric, who sends the bills, and they said the increase came from Inspire and that Inspire was charging me 25 cents per kwh, twice what Atlantic City charges. I called Inspire and got a very pleasant Brazilian rep who said something about a change to my plan and that they were going to start notifying NJ customers by email when their plans changed. I felt this was a scam, or maybe he was covering up an internal mistake. Anyway, he gave me a 12-month fixed rate of $94 a month and a contract, and made sure I knew I could cancel at any time with no penalty, and refunded me my money from last month plus some incentives. So I'm getting back over $250.

I plan to cancel them at the end of the 12 months as this all feels odd, but I'll take advantage of the 12-month discount. Even if it was a mistake, just say "we made a mistake." Since my Nov bill went back to normal before I called, I think it was just a mistake but I'll be watching closely especially after reading about others' experiences.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NJ Single Mom from Pitman, NJ on November 18th, 2023



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

22 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Do not change your service!!!!!
Inspire is a complete rip off!! They told me my bill will be cheaper than my current electric supplier. That was a big fat lie!!! My bill with Jcp&L monthly was around 150s to 160s, before I switched to Inspire. Now, my bill went up an additional $150.00 a month. I did not realize this for months after being with this lying deceitful company.
Something told me to check my bill and sure enough, I was as being robbed every month for $150.00 dollars. I cancelled my contract immediately on 8/30/23. Please do not sign you will be sorry later.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Latonya from Parlin, NJ on January 26th, 2024
Doubled costs without notice
Not only was my October 2023 bill shockingly high, they lied when I called and tried to cancel. They said they would switch me to a flat-rate promtional plan, but my most recent bill is still at almost 25 cents per kwh, twice what Atlantic City Electric charges. So I dropped them but still have to pay another full month of charges. I'm furious and confused, as I've been using them for years with no hassles.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

C H from Pitman, NJ on December 5th, 2023
More expensive than jcp&l and njng
Sales person came to my house in May and told me would cost less. Fortunately njng puts the price comparison on their bill, and inspire was 13%more. I then checked jcp&l bill, and inspire cost more too, about 30%higher per kwh rate. I immediately called and cancelled both. Also called jcp&l and njng to make sure change was put through.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ann from Ledgewood, NJ on August 23rd, 2023
Bait and switch
Sankvira comes To my door asking about the pseg bill i told her its not in my name but she insists it doesnt have to be . Tells me she can lower my pseg by switching to in state sourced energy only and cut my bill in half. Bill doubles and it turns out i was switched from pseg altogether, cancelled and have to wait 1-2 billing cycles for my bill to go back to how it was . Not an honest company .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Samantha from North Brunswick, NJ on August 14th, 2023
The ONLY good thing about Inspire Energy is they let me cancel easily.
A representative came to my door promising that my electricity bill would be reduced if I switched my electricity service to Inspire Energy. The door-to-door representative from Inspire Energy lied to me. My generation rate INCREASED by 50% after switching services.

I am a first-time homeowner, and at the time I didn't know how to read my electric bill. In NJ no matter who your provider is (PSE&G, JCP&L, or Atlantic City Electric) you are billed for service/delivery and generation. Both are based on your usage but both have separate rates. Inspire Energy, or any 3rd party generation service, is instead going to bill you for a generation but not service/delivery, which will stay with your provider and at this time can't be changed.

If you're reading this after a representative came to your door, call them back and ask them what your new GENERATION rate will be. If they give you the runaround just cancel your sign-up process.

If you're reading this after signing up and wondering why your bill is so high compare it to your old bill and see if your generation cost increased significantly.

You can cancel at any time, I just emailed them at help@inspirecleanenergy.com, didn't have to wait in line or actually talk to anyone and the CS representatives didn't give me much hassle. I also emailed JCP&L back and they implied they can also cancel 3rd party generation service as well.

Out of curiosity, I stayed with Inspire Energy for a few billing cycles after signing up thinking it was possible the JCP&L rates would increase over Inspire's. That never happened. JCP&L's rates did fluctuate but not very much. Insprie's was consistent, but it was consistently much more expensive than JCP&L's rates.

I'm all for going with 100% renewable clean energy, but this company practices deceptive marketing. There are other 100% renewable energy providers that are much more ethical. I would advise everyone to stay away from them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rusty Shackleford from Pemberton, NJ on June 11th, 2023
An absolute scam - DO NOT sign up or cancel NOW!
I just started living on my own at an apartment complex in Sept 2022. I am young and nave. The inspire door to door people were personable and tricked me into believing them. They seem legit with all the forms and whatever. In January of 2023 when it started, my utility bill jumped up $100. I cancelled it immediately and still have to pay since it's a "slow cancellation process". I complained again since now its $110 and waiting to hear back. They stole $210 already. I don't believe that they will cancel and I will be stuck paying $100 extra every month.

These people are evil. They take advantage of the inexperienced. It's a cruel world and Inspire makes it worse.

Cancel IMMEDIATELY! Its a SCAM!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lia from New Brunswick, NJ on January 20th, 2023
Scam!!!
FO NOT SIGN UP TO THIS!!! DEFINITELY NOT WORTH IT!!! THEY CHARGE WAY MORE THAN OWN ELECTRIC COMPANY!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Q M from Blackwood, NJ on September 1st, 2022
Scam!
They changed my carrier to them without my permission!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stacy from Millville, NJ on August 24th, 2022
Stay away from Inspire. They will charge you almost double than PSEG.
I agreed with a flat bill. The flat bill went up after 2 months and was about $20/month higher than what PSEG would have charged. I figured is Ok since is flat billing and during summer will cost more. In July they start charging $0.24/KWH while PSEG would have been $0.13/KWH.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marius from Roseland, NJ on August 7th, 2022
Highly unethical company-a huge rip-off
They offer a very low introductory monthly fee (regardless of usage) for the first couple of months and then a higher fixed monthly fee thereafter (again regardless of usage). They base this fee on an estimate of your average monthly usage after looking at your utility bill. I was aware that I was paying more than what my local utility was charging, but was willing to pay a little more for "clean" energy. The catch is that after a total of 12 months doing business with them, they switch you to an exorbitant metered KWH rate without any advance notice (NJ law apparently doesn't require them to tell you about this!). Shame on me for not staying on top of this! When I realized I was being charged an outrageous amount (3x the metered KWH rate charged by my local utility!), I got another nasty surprise: it takes a couple of billing cycles to get rid of them. This 2 month window alone cost me almost $650 over what my utility provider would've charged me! Don't fall for this bait and switch scam like I did!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

AshamedIfell4it from Monroe Township, NJ on July 15th, 2022
It is a scam! Read the older reviews!
Members from Inspire show up at your door wearing Inspire golf shirts. Saying they can tell by looking at your electric bill if you are using fossil fuels primarily for your electric service. They say they just want to look at it and if it says basic generation service they can change it so its renewable energies. What they are not telling you it is they are changing your electric provider to Inspire Energy Holdings LLC.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scammed Victim from Manasquan, NJ on January 19th, 2022
SHUT YOUR DOOR AND DONT TALK TO THEM
Was told my bill would be lower. That I can choose my supplier. Made my current electric company out to be cheating me because they didnt tell me I could choose a supplier and use clean energy.
My bill has skyrocketed. For 2 months it was 50 bucks but after that its been 250 to inspire each month. I am canceling this ASAP.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RYAN T. from Port Monmouth, NJ on November 14th, 2021
Terrible company and liars
Salesperson promised to give 50 dollars Amex just to talk to him . He said no strings attached and thT will get my gift card whether I sign up or not .
I went ahead and signed up until I realized they are crooks and out to make money off vulnerable people .
When I called
To check on my 50 dollars they apologized for the Salesman inexperience and for telling me thT I would get the gift card regardless of signing up .
The lady on the phone hit me up with language like rules
and regulations bs and when I told her thT would
Write bad review she said to go ahead and do S she didnt care .
Customers beware of this company .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ozzie from Jackson, NJ on October 22nd, 2021
Terrible, dont do it
They are liars and scammers. My elector bill skyrocketed because of them after a sales person told me they could help lower our bill absolutely awful
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rg from Williamstown, NJ on September 18th, 2021
Super pushy - do not show them your bill
Inspire rep was incredibly pushy and kept coming back even though we told him no. All my neighbors have the same stories - do not show them your PSE&G bill (or whatever company supplies you now). They can use the codes on there to make the change without your consent.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S S from Montclair, NJ on July 20th, 2021
Scumbags
I signed up for a monthly plan for $74.99 a month for 1 year signed contract first bill cam in was $132.25 geez guess that wasn't $74.99 called the customer service # and funny i got a women in Belize that couldnt answet my question asked to be transfered to a U.S rep and that took 15 minutes seems like she had some problems lol then the man came on i asked if he was from the U.S and guess what his answer was NOPE so guess that was a problem funny how things work when you are a world away he couldn't answer any questions either he wouldn't tell me where he was but god only know and hung up on me great customer service then called the customer service online not the one from the bill that you would think to call and finally got a U.S rep and here we go again she couldnt answer my questions either i asked her i have a contract for $74.99a month and she said yes i said y is my bill $132.25 she said i payed $6 to them this month for 30kWh i said oh i did where on the bill does it say that cause my bill says $132.25 for 370kWh and she said that was not right and i said oh so my bill and my bank account are wrong lol u kidding me and im sure u can guess what happened when i started asking more questions she hung up as well then i looked up the company to get more info and numbers and found out they have 1.6 stars out of 5 for service and 1.7 stars out of 5 for customer service and i thought that was high id give them .5 stars if i could but that isn't an option so 1 star it is PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY hope people read the reviews before signing up and unfortunately know that this has happened i will never sign up with any other company for anything ever again hope you are proud of yourselfs
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Inspire from Camden, NJ on June 21st, 2021
Simply because of their sales pitch
This review is simply based off their sales tactics. Their door to door sales pitch is being sneaky and sly. They say they know your neighbors well and will talk to your pets and act all charming to come off super trustworthy and after looking into the product it didnt seem terrible but the sales experience alone left a bad taste in my mouth that I canceled after the trial right away. After they left my house I felt so gross. I couldnt stay with them even if the trial went okay. It was just an experience that left you feeling dirty and tricked.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amanda from Old Bridge, NJ on June 11th, 2021
If I could give 0 stars, I would
If I could give them 0 stars, I would. Kristel came to our door and spoke to my husband. She said she was from the state and that it was a requirement by law from the state that she make sure our electric bill was using their new clean energy as NJ has bad pollution. So my husband showed them, and she signed us up for a subscription WITHOUT HIM KNOWING. I was not present, and the electric bill is in my name, yet they still sent a transfer of service request to our electric provider to switch to them!! Without us knowing. They're scumbags and liars and I wouldnt touch them with a 39 and a half foot pole. If you have to lie to get sales, youre in the wrong field.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Karly H from Sewell, NJ on February 11th, 2021
Fraudulent activities
Checking my electric bill this month i noticed my bill went up 300.00 I had contacted my electric company to inquire why thats when i was told about inspire. This company came to my door 2 years ago and they told me they can lower my electric bill and i can cancel at anytime which i did a month later when i got my electric bill and seen i was paying double. Now all of the sudden they are on my bill again without my consent
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nina from Millville, NJ on November 23rd, 2020
Swindlers
I had never heard of them. I never, never do any business on the phone. I had been with JCP&L for 30 years when Inspire hook me up with them at twice the JCP&L rate without my knowing about it. They forged a telephone conversation using a recording of my voice saying "yes" several times. JCP&L washed their hands. I reported this swindle to several government institutions including my local police department.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

R. Chorny from Chatham, NJ on October 31st, 2020
Scam, scam, scam
This is a scam. My energy bill is usually around $200, l signed up after l was told l would save. My bill has been in the $300-400 range. Never sign up with them. Useless company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sharon White from Mount Royal, NJ on August 12th, 2020
Stay away, Shady electric company
They tricked me into their plan with door to door sales person and pressure tactic. I initially got lower rates for first 3 months, but later they switched me into their higher rate plan. Customer service sucks. I somehow managed to get rid of them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bender from Middletown, NJ on July 18th, 2020