Reviews for SFE Energy

The best review categories for SFE Energy are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.2 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 1.2 stars.

Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

23 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Scam
I experienced a very disappointing situation that led me to consider it the worst decision I ever made. I was repeatedly deceived by this company. Despite knowing I had an ongoing lease agreement 1 year, they insisted so much on the cancellation being possible that frankly, they wore us down. Turns out, the reality was very different: now they demand $1100 USD to cancel a service I used to pay $18 USD a month for. It's disheartening to feel manipulated in this way.
I feel deeply deceived and let down by this experience. It's regrettable that a company chooses to deceive its customers in such a manner. My advice to anyone is to never share any information with them. It's a sad situation that I hope others can avoid by learning from my experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Claudia Figueroa from Bedminster, NJ on December 11th, 2023
Scammers
Door to door scammers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Non Your from Jersey City, NJ on April 25th, 2023
No stars
This company is a scam. They deserve no stars. Please be advised and do not open your doors. Very hard to cancel.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amanda from Union City, NJ on October 21st, 2022
Negative Stars!! BEWARE!! SCAMMERS!!
If a young persons comes to your door promising you low energy bills - SHUT THE DOOR!! This is a scam!! I don't know how it is legal for SFE to do this. My gas supply charges went up by $80 and their promises of cancelling at anytime for only $2.50 is a bold faced LIE! I learned my lesson the hard way. I will never answer my door to a sales person again thanks to SFE. Too much hassle and stole my money right in front of me. I feel like a total idiot. Don't make the same mistake.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KJ from Piscataway, NJ on August 19th, 2021
Scam
My bill went high sky after I enroll them by mistakenly. They promise to keep your PSEG bill in a certain amount and it is a lie. Now I can not reach their customer service. They do not answer the phones and emails. I am not sure about the cancellation fee and can not even find out about it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Julia from Cliffside Park, NJ on August 16th, 2021
Scam!
They came to my door and made it seem like they're partners with pseg, and as if they're just taking reading and keeping prices less. My bill was almost $300!!! They never mentioned anything bout cancelation fees which is like $86 for electric and another $86 for gas! I can't wait to cancel and just stick to pseg!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amanda from 08952 on August 4th, 2021
Review
Huge scam! Dont even entertain these people when they come to your door. They pretended they were associated with PSE&G, asked me to sign my initials to provide permission for them to email me information, and then to participate in a phone call where the guy was giving me the answers I was supposed to say. Meanwhile in reality, they were signing me up for their service, not just taking my information to provide me with further details at a later time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Danielle from Teaneck, NJ on April 10th, 2021
SFE this company scam people
They lie to me took $240 dollars from my bill I call PSE&G they took the third party supplier out but I had to wait 3 months they lower my bill is all a scam dont listen to this people
Next time one of them come to my house I will beaten shit out them
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jeremy from Englewood, NJ on March 3rd, 2021
Not trustful company
They will charge you a lot more than PSEG company. I was paying around $40 per month with PSEG then added SFE. Paid $190 per month. They told me I can cancel anytime without any cancellation fee but they asking for $80 for cancellation fee. Stay away from SFE if you dont want to waste your money. If need proof I can show the bills with PSEG and SFE to compare.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Zack from Clifton, NJ on January 25th, 2021
Horrible scam and salespeople lie
NO STARS. They are predatory and a scam. They presented themselves as PSE & G said my account was wrong and needed to be fixed, I fixed and then moved months later. Suddenly I get an early cancellation bill from SFE but to reiterate, they presented themselves as my current company and are now threatening collections for an early cancellation fee. Just stay AWAY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J from Jersey City, NJ on January 21st, 2021
Scam, please alert
A guy, taking a folder with PSE&G documents, knocked my door told me he was sent by PSE&G to make sure all the residence signed a contract with the current energy supplier to lock the current low energy rate. All residence must sign, then I found a contract of SFE energy NJ with my signature sent to my email. I was asked to confirm the contract immediately by phone, but I refused, telling them I need time to read the contract first. I found according to the contract, my natural gas price will increase from 38C to 83C/therm, and the electricity will from 12C to 17C for three years. Now is winter, I guess my bill will be doubled if they were success. Apparently, they have successful made some residents in my community signed a contract with them. Try to call the campany to recind the contract, never got connected.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

C from Harrison, NJ on January 12th, 2021
Scam and total robbery, they do not allow them to approach your house
They arrive saying that they are on behalf of the electricity or gas company because people are claiming for increases in their bills, then they enroll you in a program and your bill is tripled. my average bill was $ 70 and from one month to another it went up to $ 210 because of these scammers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hannkel Aguilar from Pennsauken, NJ on October 29th, 2020
Scam
This company is a scam. They lie to customers and they also lie to new employees. Ray Islam is the number one liar and thief along with his team members Luis Deleon and Steven Caracena. DO NOT get involved with this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Janelle from Jersey City, NJ on October 19th, 2020
I was enrolled through lies.
This company called me saying that their phone call was from pse&g and asked me pse&g POD # in order to send me an apology check because I over paid. They lied to me to enrolled me in their electric supplier. The they called from was not in service I got their number after I was enrolled. Is not fair
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sfe from Englewood, NJ on August 13th, 2020
Scam scam
Horrible people its big scam, they got my information from somewhere I didnt even know I had account with SFE energy the supervision name ALI its criminal its said the salesperson name STEVEN SARACENU hes male deal regales about the account with SFE ENERGY they stole money from people, I talk to them on the phone very unprofessional what so funny I call PSE&G to tell them why none call or contact me about unusual move with SFE energy, they said its by the law they can do Whatever they want. Its fake company they dont deliver any supplies energy full of it, when I ever pay not more the 23$ with PSE&G now I end up pay almost 400$. Those people should go to jail, they rip off people
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nap April 28 2020 from West New York, NJ on April 28th, 2020
BIG TIME SCAM!!!!
DON'T WANT THESE PEOPLE NEAR MY HOUSE! My electric bill quadrupled since they convinced me to switch!!! I should have known it was too good to be true smh!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stay Away from New Brunswick, NJ on April 23rd, 2020
Scam company misrepresenting info
I have dealt with 3rd party suppliers before all of which locked in a max rate per unit of energy used and if rate went down they would match it. This was not the case with SFE. I asked the "sales associate" several times if I was paying fixed rate per unit of energy used - told me I don't understand and that my bill will be cheaper because I'm currently being overcharged. Looked at the next bill and it was fixed rate per day regardless of gas and electric usage. BILL WAS 5X HIGHER THAN IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN given amount of energy used. Tried to cancel twice so far and it hasn't gone through.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt K from Cliffside Park, NJ on April 14th, 2020
Very Bad experience
My PSEG bill before SFE is around $30. After signing up with SFE, bill amount is $176. When I called customer care for cancellation, they told me that the cancellation is fee is $114 and it will take two months time to take effect which means I got to pay like $176 for two more times. I will end up in paying $500+ for no reason. Instead I have given an option to change to a new plan and to a new contract for two years. Per my bad experience, keep yourself away from SFE.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sankaresan from Jersey City, NJ on March 18th, 2020
Ridiculousl
Should have known better than to switch to them. A man came to my door saying my electric and heat would go up with my current company, had papers and everything, statistics, everything so he said switching to sfe would save. WRONG! My electric bill jumped 4 times higher than it should have, heat separately went up about 3 times as much. Worst company I have dealt with, customer service didnt understand that I wanted to cancel. Plus the cancellation fee for both is $80 so thats $160 for both. Horrible company feels like a scam and I fell for it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scam-like Company from Burlington, NJ on March 16th, 2020
Customer fraud
They entered my building identifying themselves as PS&G and I need to fix an error in my account. He made a call and passed the account details and solved everything because I don't speak English. So now I have an account 3x the normal value they are dangerous
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Henrique from Newark, NJ on March 5th, 2020
SCAM
So i went from 40$ to 120 $ hahah what a SCAM..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carlos Almanzar from Hackensack, NJ on January 20th, 2020
Scam
Overall Scam. The say they are from your energy company and you must sign. I had the sales lady tell me what to say while on the phone so my service does not get interrupted. My bill went from $25 to $166. They should be investigated... also the 5* reviews on here are obviously fake...same review different dates and names...same name different review dates.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ben Perry from Mahwah, NJ on January 11th, 2020
A complete SCAM
Absolute SCAM. They take advantage of senior citizens who do not understand the market. They also take advantage of poorer communities who might not speak english well either! They told my parents that they were being forced to change and that if they were going to have giant pay hikes. They play shady by acting as if they're part of your electric company and going door to door saying they need to update your record on something. They call all the people and they press all the button pretending to be you and skipping the entire fine print over the phone so you don't hear the warnings. My parents signed up (more like they signed them up since they didn't want trouble with PSEG) BUT they were not told that 1, there was a contract for 3 years and that 2, there would be a cancellation fee of 160 dollars.

Advice, if they (SFE) are ever inside an apartment building(or on your lawn) without the super or a tenant, tell them to leave at once or call the police for trespassing on private property. They ARE NOT PSE&G nor do they have any business being there.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Don't Trust These Con Artist from Passaic, NJ on November 8th, 2019