Verde Energy Reviews

Verde Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Verde Energy are their customer service, rated at 1.8 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.7 of 5.

Verde Energy Rating

New Jersey Energy Ratings Score:


( 3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About Verde Energy

Verde Energy is a retail electricity provider that offers service in Connecticut, Illinois, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Texas.

34 Reviews for Verde Energy


Don't use

(1 / 5)

  I had a plan with them and everything was good until the end of the contract. They notified me that my price would change at the end of my contract to double what my electric would be at PECO. I called them and cancelled my agreement within the time frame but the last month of the contract they charged me the double amount that I should have been charged. This was December 2018 and it is now May 2019 and I am still waiting on my $92.00 refund. They originally said it would be six weeks to get me refund (but they would have never waited that long to get paid) and then said a check was issued (that was never received) and I would have to wait an additional ten days to see if the check arrived. I waited , called again and they said I had a direct number to call in place of waiting for hours on the phone. Again no check and the number they gave me said leave a number and we will call you back within 23-48 hours. So are you suppose to wait next to your phone to get your money. I have to work to pay the electric. Now the guy who has consistently lied about everything said if you are upset I am not going to talk to you. They can credit my PECO account if they don't want to send a check but at this point they are doing everything to not pay me . DONT USE> They are the worst and they lie and try avoid any responsibility. My bill was always paid on time and I deserve my money back. I am contacting PA utilizes and proceeding with any actions I can.

Linda Creighton
May 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Verde energy experience the shock!!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  Price quoted was not what was billed.Switched back then received another call from verte.Asked seven times for price per KW never got a answer. I would trust Trump before these Con men. Got hung up on Worlds worst tela- marketers. What a joke

Jeffrey
April 26th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Constant telemarketing calls

(1 / 5)

  My number is on the Do Not Call list. Despite that, I was receiving nearly daily telemarketing calls about converting my energy supply to Verde. Since asking the phone representative to stop calling did not work, I wrote to Verde's Customer Care department at
customercare@verdeenergy.com
They advised to allow 3-5 days and they would have the calls stopped.
Today (2 weeks later) the telemarketing calls have started again.

I would NEVER do business with a company that has such disregard for the law.

Dan
April 26th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam

(1 / 5)

  I received a phone call from Verde stating they are from my current supplier. They told me I was being charged a commercial rate and they needed me to switch to Verde. Of course I agreed. So it was a fraudulent call and misrepresented.

Deb
April 11th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay away from this company!

(1 / 5)

  They use scam artists from India, their customers service is located in Jamaica and they are quoting price well above the utility rates.

Joe
March 28th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

stay away from Verde

(1 / 5)

  My supplier got changed from Hiko to Verde with out my consent
Recently discovered that my bill is double and they charge over $1.1/kwh. I immediately switched the supplier to another company at $0.49/kwh.
Verde rep told me that I did not renew the contract, so the price is even higher than before. I did not sign up with Verde. Then how would I know to renew the contract?
Now I found that they had some rebate offer of $50 for 6 months, that also they refused not pay me.
After cancellation, it is going to take 2 months to take effect, and these months I have to pay the high bill.
I requested the agent to reduce the price till cancellation, that again they refused
This is insane.
If anyone from Verde see this, please refund me the atrocious amount charged for past 7 months and reduce the price for next two months..
If at least that is done, I would feel that Verde is a genuine company.

thanks

PR
March 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company is a scammy piece of shit.

(1 / 5)

  First of all the salesmen basically forced me into signing up. I read reviews right when he left & called the following morning to CANCEL. Got a confirmation number & all. Come to find out they didnt cancel & my gas bill went up by $40.00. Screw This company & everyone that works for it!!! I hope someone sues you!!!!

Verde energy is a piece of shit scam
March 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch

(1 / 5)

  Signed up at a fixed rate and everything was fine. My contract was up in October which I was never notified either by mail or by phone. My rate went from fixed .10 to .19 and never knew until the winter billing period. Supply charge went to $385 in December to $402! Unbelievable, that's 4 months of electricity in the summer! Customer service was NO help as they basically told me tough Sh**!

Tim Krapfel
February 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Verde energy thiefs

(1 / 5)

  Verde energy took advantage of my 82 year old Mother promising her that her monthly bill would go down. The first month Verde energy charged 3 times the normal bill in addition to the Toledo Edison bill. After calling to complain the supervisor said there was nothing he could do about it since you agreed to the terms. Verde Energy is scamming the American people and getting away with it.

Rod
February 19th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be very careful

(1 / 5)

  Be very careful about even contacting this company about their rates. They will sign you up without your permission, even if you have a better plan with a lower rate, and make you pay their higher rate. I know, it happened to us.

Be very careful
February 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shady company! Avoid!

(1 / 5)

  My past energy supplier merged with Verde as far as I know, and I randomly received a letter in the mail stating I was now a Verde customer. This resulted in my supply energy charge to be twice the average price of electricity. When I cancelled the account, they charged me a customer charge for no reason.
It look hours on the phone to get my money back.
Avoid this company at all cost!

Worst experience in my lifetime
January 29th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sketchy at best

(1 / 5)

  I got a call from Verde. It was a guy with an Indian accent that I could barely understand. He told me he was calling from PECO. I was such a good customer that PECO (not Verde) wanted to offer me 25% off my electric bill and 35% off my gas. Then he said I would no longer have to pay a $12.05 service fee. My budget bill, which is $355 currently was going to drop to $65. When I questioned his math he said that is because they were going to remove all my charges which when I looked at my bill amounted to $117.19. If I subtract that from $355 I get $237.19 so where is this $65 bill coming from? He also said that my kWh was going to drop from .155 to .999. I looked at my bill and it looks like I'm paying .13062 per kWh. Where are they getting their numbers?

When I asked the guy if I could put him on hold he was very gracious. I then called PECO and asked them if they were, indeed, calling all their good customers to offer good rates. The answer: NO! I flipped back to the guy and told him what PECO said. We were mysteriously disconnected.

A few minutes later he called me back from a different phone number and apologized for the disconnection. I told him he was not being honest about who was calling. It was then that he told me he was calling from Verde Energy. He apologized for not telling me that in the first place.

If this doesn't seem sketchy to you then by all means use them as your electric provider. I will not be using them.

Bakequery
January 8th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Verde energy is a pathetic company

(1 / 5)

  I renewed my plan with Oasis and Verde is taking over Oasis and their contracts but isn't honoring the rates. I called Oasis and they said my contract expired in July but yet I renewed with a 18 month fixed rate contract in May. I contacted Verde and they said I'm enrolled in a variable rate plan which I would never do and have the email from Oasis showing I'm in a fixed rate program. Of course I printed out everything for the new contract. I called Verde today and told them to send me all of the information on my account but they said I'm not sure if we can because it's closed which is fine they were informed by email all calls would be recorded. My Attorney will be filing a case against Verde once they provide the information I requested.

Rich
October 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not Impressed

(1 / 5)

  I found this energy supplier and tried to sign up. After spending 2 hours on the phone trying to register with them I thought I was all set. Little to my surprise they called me back because they forgot information. They promised ne a gift card worth $50 and said I was all set. I never received a gift card and they never signed me. I callled to see about the gift card and was told i am not partnered with them. What a waste of time. Customer service was very unhelpful they didnt know what they were doing. Please try another energy company first. Save yourself the let down!

Much Improvement Needed
March 8th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions





Example Bill
loading...