The best review categories for Atlantic City Electric are their customer service, with an average of 1.5 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.0 stars.

Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
They do not reed according to what they told me they calculate base on prior year to estimate the bills
Very sad to hear that they been charging me high monthly bills because they only calculate base on prior year and occasionally they send someone to read how much electricity I am using. first call I made they recommend me to change and I change to LED low voltage everything is to economize energy however the bills still going up. I called today and the experience I got is terrible the lady that took my call did not want to help which is seems to be normal with this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rigo from Elmer, NJ on August 12th, 2021
Terrible Customer Service
When you call the Customer Service phone #, they tell you to email individual departments. There is no other way to get information, without emailing them right now because everyone is working remotely. When you email, no one responds. I've been emailing for months and they respond with a question, but no solution and no answers to my questions. It's so frustrating - a Catch 22. If only there was another option down here for electricity.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DisplayName from Egg Harbor City, NJ on May 14th, 2021
Not trustworthy
This is the only electric company in Newjersy there is no other option my bills are always high I never see a meter man and I'm always home . Board of utility takes complaints but does nothing. I'm on USF budget billing deferred payment arrangements and bills are still $3 and $4 hundred dollars a month.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ange from Salem, NJ on March 1st, 2021
Bill Audits
December of 2019 I received a almost $900 bill. I called and I was told they audited the bills from the last 6 monyptns and they misbilled me. They said oh its not your fault you got the bill and you paid it. But even sent them for the wrong amount. I told them this was ridiculous and unfair especially right before Christmas. I was told that yeah but you still used the electricity. Oh and I could go on a payment plan. We slowly paid if off. Well 6 months later it happened again. Im sick of it. I pay my bills. How do I know that any of it is true. I honestly dont trust them or their billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

High Billing from Stratford, NJ on January 14th, 2021
Overcharging of Services and Poor Customer Services
My husband and I moved to Glassboro, NJ temporary from Philadelphia after selling our home. We moved into an 800 sq ft unit and were experiencing a VERY unusually high electric bill for its size. My husband and I moved in the apartment the end of April, our May bill was $102.42 which seemed a little high, but we took into consideration of the move (lights and air condition being used while getting settled in). The next month the bill jumped to $348.52, which was very shocking to us. My husband and I have a habit of reserving our utilities to maintain our expenses. At this point we agreed it was best to make sure we didnt use the air condition at all and to rely on floor fans. For the course of four (4) months we ended up paying $1,674.42 with no air condition for a 800 sq ft apartment. Mind blowing!

Sometime in August 2019 I called Atlantic City Electric to see if they could investigate the matter and replace the meter. I spoke to a representative, John, who questioned my integrity and claimed that it was no way possible that we did not use our air conditioner. After a very heated call, I managed to get them to agree to replace the meter. I was told by this same person, John, to give it 30 days for the change to reflect in our meter reads and that they would evaluate our previous bills to determine a refund or credit. I was asked to check back in a month. I called in September to inquire about the status of the investigation and was told by a different representative (female) that this can take a while and to check back with them. In October my husband asked me to check the status of the refund/credit to see where we were with Atlantic City Electric company. I spoke with a woman who checked the system and confirmed that the process was in motion. That it will take up to 3 months for them to come to any conclusions. I asked what happens if we move, then what? They told me that we would be issued either a refund (sent to our new home) or a credit (if we havent moved yet or should decide to transfer the services to our new address). I was given an estimated time frame to see or hear back from them by December/January.

Once the meter was changed, in the last 4 months our meter drop significantly to the average of $75/month since October. Still high for our 800 sq ft apartment, but based on our lifestyle and activities its okay.

Its now the end of January 2020 and I havent heard ANYTHING from Atlantic City Electric company. I followed up today and I am being told that the last activity shown on my account was switching the meter. There was never any investigation issued and because this issue happened a while ago and that it took place last year they were not able to consider the claim at all. I asked to speak to a manager and was told the person was unavailable.

Trying to get an understanding of the situation we learned from members of our management office and local neighbors that it was no surprise to see that we are going through the issues we are having with Atlantic City Electric company, as it seems to be an on-going problem around here. With all the run around you get from Atlantic City Electric company most people dont have the time in their schedule to fight these issues. We were told the best thing we could have done was to force them to change our meter.

I think its a disgrace to see such a company ABUSE and take advantage of hardworking people by overcharging, treating customers so rudely, and with disregards! Its one of the reasons why I would prefer NOT to live in South Jersey if I have to deal with companies like Atlantic City Electric (who by the way is located in Delaware) that monopolizes the territory.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

G. Jones from Glassboro, NJ on January 27th, 2020
Poor feed back on my electric bill
My issue started on 8/29/19. My July-Aug bill was $1,235.44 but my June to July bill was $ 685.92. To date I still do not have this issue resolved. I have made 13 calls to A,C, Electric, I was waiting for a revised bill. I rec'd my Sept to Oct bill with a balance of 465.29 with no explanation. Also my budget increased from $333 to $485 also no valid explanation. I rec'd one return call from a supervisor named Mrs. James who assured me this would be resolved. I have left 2 voice mail messages to her with no return call. I called again today and spoke to Morgan who said I would receive a return call today that never happened, I am very dissatisfied with the customer service since this started back in August and we are now in the month of Nov. I would like someone to step forward and resolve this issue before my next bills due date which is Nov 13th. Today is Nov 5th 2019
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

William O'Neill from Tuckerton, NJ on November 5th, 2019



Gas Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Monthly Recurring Charge
The 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.729 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.649 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.699 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$1.149 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
18 Month Fixed Rate
18 month
Fixed Rate
$0.889 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
3 Year Price Protection
36 month
Fixed Rate
$0.819 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.969 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.959 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
4 Month Fixed Rate
4 month
Fixed Rate
$0.329 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge