Home > Read Reviews > Green Mountain Energy

Green Mountain Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Green Mountain Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.0 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.0 of 5.

Green Mountain Energy Rating

New Jersey Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About Green Mountain Energy

Green Mountain Energy Company was founded in 1997 with the mission to change the way power is made. As the longest serving renewable energy retailer in the country, Green Mountain is a green power pioneer.


369 Reviews for Green Mountain Energy


Friendly, Customer-Centered AND Green!

(4.9 / 5)

  We've been Green Mountain Energy customers for
about seven years now. The service has been
great, the billing a non-issue, and every time
our contract expires, when I call to get the
best new rate, the service reps are friendly
and set us up without a hassle.

Our rates have been slightly better or
comparable to TXU, but our customer service
experience has been FAR superior.

Not only that, but we are reducing our carbon
footprint by using wind and solar-generated
electricity, and every month, our bill reminds
us of the small but significant difference we
are making.

I'd recommend Green Mountain to anyone.

Natalie
June 1st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great company and CLEAN!

(4.9 / 5)

  I have had service with several electric providers since Texas deregulated. many of my experiences have not been good ones (sketchy terms, customer service issues, billing problems, etc.). While Green Mountain isn't the least expensive option, their rates are comparable to the others out there. Beware of going with the cheapest option as those are the ones that usually have the sketchy terms (you may end up paying a higher average rate than expected). Green Mountain's terms are pretty straight forward so you don't have to worry about any surprises. What I also like about Green Mountain is that they are dedicated to offering cleaner energy (wind power) and so far my experiences with their customer service department have been positive.

Joel
July 12th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Green light for Green Mountain

(4.8 / 5)

  Ive never needed or contacted customer service. Billing is accurate, payment is automatic, if the price looks good to you then go for it!

Big D Bubba
April 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Solid choice for Renewable Energy

(4.8 / 5)

  Green Mountain doesn't have the cheapest plan by far, and not even the cheapest renewable plan, but they do have stability, consistency, and reliability. I've been a customer for several years now (coming up on my third contract renewal) and I'm very wary of switching away from GME even if it means potentially saving $1000 a year on power. Their website is easy to use and intuitive. Averaged billing great.

The ONLY negative I ever experienced was when I was not paying attention and missed the contract renewal. Once you switch to "month by month" expect to be paying almost DOUBLE the rate. To be fair, they did send me ONE letter about this, and from what I'm reading many companies are much worse about not nudging the customer to renew a contract so the company can reap those sweet, sweet month-to-month rates. So stay on top of that contract renewal!

David C.
November 22nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awesome!

(4.8 / 5)

  I recommend Green Mountain Energy because they offer 100% renewable electricity, making it affordable to help protect the environment. It is Not only the price what matters.
Most of people just think about saving money.... We should actually care for life, the source of life is the planet... No matter how much money you have in your pocket. If you don't have food to buy your done.

Amy
April 29th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Honest Company

(4.8 / 5)

  I signed up with Green Mountain shortly after Texas first de-regulated the market. I chose them because their contract terms were fair. Other companies included egregious and one-sided contracts. The Green Mountain contract was fair and balanced. Also, Green Mountain, at that time, offered renewable energy generated in Texas. The meant that my consumption increased demand in Texas. The other companies played a shell game that would have no real impact on renewable demand. I was particularly pleased in September 2013 when I had PV generation installed on my roof. Dealing with Green Mountain was very easy. They walked me through the process fro change to my account in advance. They told me who to call when my PV was online. On the day, everything went beautifully. Now, my contract with Green Mountain is, again, more than fair. I am getting the best price anywhere for my excess generation. This is a deal that I could not find with other retail providers.

Gordon Kelly
April 14th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent customer service

(4.8 / 5)

  I had a 2 year contract with Green Mountain Energy. Customer service was available either online or by phone and always provided excellent service.

Claire H
April 10th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far so good

(4.8 / 5)

  I'm a year into the service locking in every 6 months with a 9.5 cent Kw/h rate. I live in a one story house and use about 1000 kw during the summer peak. My bill topped off at about $119 for August. During the winter it ranges anywhere from $35-$50.

I was with a co-op previously and paying fluctuating rates depending on my energy use. The more I used the lower I'd pay per Kw/h. Idiotic if you ask me if the goal is to reduce consumption. I would pay anywhere from 11 cents to about 15 cents per Kw/h. Because I was conservative with my usage, I tended to pay closer to the 15 cents range. With GM, I pay a flat rate regardless so it's been really good to be paying a much better rate and green energy to boot.

Service has been consistent without any issues and no issues with billing.

There's a lot of negative reviews and I noticed that the majority of them are from the DFW area. I don't know what the deal is with that but I haven't had any problems with rates suddenly changing. I can't speak for customer service because I haven't had to use them. If things go sour, fortunately I'm in a deregulated area (Round Rock, TX) so I have about 30 other options for providers.

I do have to say that I'm always skeptical when reviewers are not coherent in their complaints or "SCREAMING". There's always two sides of every story so who knows... as far as I'm concerned, I'm satisfied with the service and would recommend.

Mike
January 9th, 2014

Thanks Mike! We're glad your experience with Green Mountain has been positive. If there's anything we can do to make it better, just email us at feedback@greenmountain.com. Welcome to the Green Mountain community!

Green Mountain Energy Responds February 20th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Electricity Provider

(4.8 / 5)

  I have been with Green Mountain Energy (GME) for over 6 years, and at one point I had 2 residences served by them in different towns. Whenever I needed assistance they have been very responsive, I have had no billing problems, and their customer service has always been top notch when I dealt with them. Unlike other reviewers, I have had nothing but good experiences with GME... except the rates. They have definitely been higher per kilowatt hour than some other providers, but that was a choice my wife and I made to support companies providing alternative and sustainable energy. That was not a problem for us then, but with the economic downturn, it got to be too much lately, and I started to switch to another company for a lower rate. I cancelled that contract during the 3-day approval period after seeing THEIR reviews. GME customer service called after seeing the switchover order, and we discussed the change. I signed a new 1 year contract with GME, and I got a significant RATE DECREASE in the process. The CS rep was very pleasant, helpful, and knowledgeable. Again, I have been and am still very satisfied with Green Mountain Energy.

Michael B. Garrett
May 15th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Haven't had a single issue

(4.8 / 5)

  From what I am reading on other reviews, people do not understand that when your contract expires, you get switched to a month to month variable rate. This is the same as any other electric company. All you have to do is call them up or go online and sign a new contract. Easy as that. Also, any other electric company you have will turn off your electricity if you fail to pay. They are, after all, a business, not a charity. I have always paid my bills on time and have never had an issue with Green Mountain Energy. They do not have the cheapest rates but in the 2 years I have been with them I have never had bad service. My contract is up and I have been doing some shopping around and I have found that some of the cheaper rates require direct payment deduction from your account, have high monthly fees, etc. I think I will be sticking with Green Mountain Energy.

Nichole
November 13th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not good customer service ANYMORE

(4.8 / 5)

  When I started with Green Mountain, their customer service was
personable, helpful, kind, and, courteous. I have been a GM customer
for almost ten years. I freelance and there have been times when I
have been late in paying, but I have never been disconnected, and
have always paid in full. The FIRST and only time that I needed
assistance with some extra time for my bill, I was met with a very rude
awakening. I was told that the $20 charge on my bill was for "sending
a disconnection notice", and that's in addition to the late charges.
When I told her my situation, she made no reply whatsoever, and I
listened to a mono-tone, heartless voice stating and repeating that I
would have to pay in full, including the most recent billing, which was
not late yet, or I'd be disconnected, obviously reading from a script.
They have repeatedly raised my rate without my acceptance, as high
as over 17 cents a Kw. I have referred many people to GM, but now I
will warn them against it. BYE.

Mary
November 14th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

happy customer

(4.8 / 5)

  i am on a fixed income and have saved money with green mountain without cutting back thank you

patricia veal
August 26th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

min5

(4.6 / 5)

  Cost chart was an eye-opener as green mountain energy occupied spots 2,3,4 regarding electricity costs. My bill is about 30% cheaper - NOW, since switching to GME!!! I was motivated when TXU Energy was going to "change" electric rates GIVING ONLY ONE MONTHS Notice. Switching to GME Has proven to be a WISE Decision.

RonCast
July 23rd, 2018

Thank you for your great review! We are here if you need us.

Green Mountain Energy Responds August 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pleased

(4.6 / 5)

  We have had Green Mountain Energy for 3 years and have had absolutely no problems. Our electric bill has been the lowest we have every had. I have no reason to want to change and have 3 years of why I would recommend them to others.

MSQuinby
December 9th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I Like Green Mountain

(4.6 / 5)

  At the time of deregulation, Green Mountain (GM) was the only company offering renewable energy. It cost more, but I chose GM for that reason. I've been with them ever since. I even sold GM for a year, because the company is good and I believe in clean energy. As a customer, I have never had a problem with billing or customer service. The website is excellent. I am only considering, and I mean only considering, switching companies because there are now companies with competing wind/renewable energy plans, but most look like bad companies, except Champion, whose rate is comparable to GM. Maybe the grass isn't really greener on the other side of the fence, and this cow will stay home.

Jane
November 12th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Love having the choice to go pollution free

(4.6 / 5)

  I've had Green Mountain for three years now and it's been great. Can't complain. They're the only company I can find that only does renewable energy and also offsets all of their carbon emission from their operations. Haven't had any issues with billing. It's been about the same price.

Therese
June 14th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Glad I went Green

(4.6 / 5)

  Signed up at local HEB. Experience was great.
Switched from Reliant. Got first bill yesterday.
Saved $88.00 from last month with Reliant with similar KWHs and $132 from previous year and save
a few trees in the process.

Carl W
May 21st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awesome experience

(4.5 / 5)

  Green Mountain Energy rates are very competitive at 10.5 cents per kilowatt for
a 6 month contract, awesome!
Ordering from Green Mountain is a snap with a highly trained staff and several
options for ordering such as through the Green Mountain Energy Network.
The customer service department is very Professional and extremely helpful.
The billing department is currently going through some changes and wait times
are a little longer than usual but once you get through, they will take care of
you. I highly recommend this company and the only bad reviews are from
people who create problems themselves and would otherwise not even post a
good review, they just want people to believe that Green Mountain is at fault
when really they are. Great company.

Efrain Nevarez
July 1st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Higher price but you get what you pay for

(4.4 / 5)

  I never had any problems with this company, I had a 714 sq ft apartment, gaming systems, fridge, washer, dryer and what not - paid about $135 a month during the summer, around $90 during the winter - sign up was easy, customer service was polite etc.

MarieG
January 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Generally good, but I'm still switching

(4.4 / 5)

  I've renewed my one year contracts twice. I've had only one issue and that was just recently, I switched products and then changed my mind and wanted to switch back. The CSR assured me I could, but it didn't happen. Needless to say, when my monthly bill arrived I went out to check and sure enough I was enrolled in the plan I said I didn't want. I was able to sort this out with a supervisor, she checked the calls and the account notes and names and dates. so I'm back on my variable plan, which is way lower than the fixed plan they had mistakenly contracted me into.

I liked my experience with GME. I'm switching because their rates right now are 4 cents a kwH more than what others are charging fixed rate and they can't meet or beat their offer. So...market forces are why I will be switching out. If, after my contract with the new provider lapses and I'm shopping around again, I'd give them a go if they are competitive.

My few customer service calls were always answered, even in the evening and when we had an outage once, they were very helpful, even though it was an Oncor thing.

M J Robinson
September 18th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions



Green Mountain Energy began in 1997 with a simple but powerful mission: Use the power of consumer choice to change the way power is made. Today, they are still 100% dedicated to protecting the environment, and they invite you to join them!

Green Mountain Energy Company shares their customers' commitment to the environment and sustainability. They are inspired by the success they have achieved and are passionate about continuing to work towards changing the way power is made. In addition to the pursuit of this important mission, Green Mountain Energy believes in operating their company in a sustainable way, with their employees taking the lead on many of the company's green initiatives.

Green Mountain Energy strives to raise the bar on being transparent and keeping the promises they make to customers about the cleaner energy they're buying.


Updated: 01-18-2019
Example Bill
loading...